Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees for the 2026/2027 academic session are now clearly published for PGD, master’s and PhD programmes, with different registration charges for Jigawa State indigenes, other Nigerian students and international students. The university’s School of Postgraduate Studies lists registration fees from ₦96,000 for some PGD programmes to ₦250,000 for some PhD programmes, while application, processing and acceptance fees are separately charged at ₦20,000 each. Knowing the correct figure before admission helps you prepare for the full cost of postgraduate study rather than budgeting around tuition alone. This is especially useful for students planning postgraduate budgets before registration.
In this guide, you will find the complete Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees schedule for 2026/2027, including programme-by-programme registration charges, application and acceptance fees, medical and ID charges, supervision costs, thesis submission fees and other possible payments. We also explain the difference between the fees for Jigawa indigenes and other Nigerian students, show what selected postgraduate routes may cost when the listed core charges are combined, and explain how to make payments through the university’s official postgraduate system. Because the current schedule is officially published, the figures below are presented as the university’s stated charges rather than estimates.
About Sule Lamido University’s Postgraduate Programmes
Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, offers postgraduate education through its School of Postgraduate Studies (SPGS), with programmes covering Postgraduate Diploma, Master’s and PhD levels.
For the 2026/2027 academic session, the university’s postgraduate admission portal lists programmes across areas including Computing and Information Technology, Education, Humanities, and Natural and Applied Sciences.
The currently advertised postgraduate programmes include the following:
- M.Sc. Computer Science
- PhD Computer Science
- Postgraduate Diploma in Computer Science
- M.Ed. Curriculum Studies
- M.Ed. Educational Psychology
- PhD in Education specializations
- PGDE
- M.A. Arabic
- M.A. English
- M.A. Islamic Studies
- PhD in Arabic
- PhD in English
- PhD in Islamic Studies
- M.Sc. Biology
- M.Sc. Chemistry
- M.Sc. Physics
- M.Sc. Mathematics
- PhD programmes in the listed science disciplines
- PGD programmes in several humanities, education and science-related fields
The School of Postgraduate Studies currently describes its postgraduate offerings as covering four faculties and three major postgraduate levels: PGD, Master’s and PhD.
This matters when considering Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees because the registration charge is not a single flat amount for everybody. The amount depends on the programme and, for Nigerian students, whether the applicant is an indigene of Jigawa State or comes from another state.
The university has also separated its application-stage charges from registration fees. Therefore, someone searching for Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees should not assume that the programme registration figure is the only amount payable during the postgraduate admission process.
Also read: AUSU Postgraduate Admission for 2025/2026: Full Guide (Programmes, Requirements & Fees)
Sule Lamido University Postgraduate Fee Structure Overview
The most important thing to understand about the Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees for 2026/2027 is that the university divides its charges into three broad categories:
- Application-related charges
- Programme registration charges
- Other postgraduate charges
The application section contains three separate payments:
- Application fee — ₦20,000
- Admission processing fee — ₦20,000
- Admission acceptance fee — ₦20,000
This means the three listed admission-stage payments add up to ₦60,000 for Nigerian and international applicants before considering the actual programme registration fee.
The registration fee then depends on the programme.
For example, some PGD programmes are listed at ₦96,000 for Jigawa State indigenes and ₦120,000 for other Nigerian students, while M.Sc. programmes in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics are listed at ₦160,000 and ₦200,000 respectively.
PhD charges also vary. Humanities and education-related PhD programmes are listed at ₦160,000 for Jigawa indigenes and ₦200,000 for other Nigerian students. PhD programmes in the listed science disciplines carry higher registration charges of ₦200,000 and ₦250,000 respectively.
International students have separate dollar-denominated registration figures.
Important: The university’s published schedule calls these amounts registration fees. They should not automatically be described as tuition alone because the schedule separately identifies other institutional and postgraduate charges.
This distinction is important when comparing Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees with fees from other Nigerian universities.
Sule Lamido University Postgraduate School Fees Breakdown for 2026/2027
The following is the main Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees schedule published for the 2026/2027 session.
Application and Admission Charges
| Fee Item | Nigerian Students | International Students |
|---|---|---|
| Application | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| Admission Processing Fee | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| Admission Acceptance Fee | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| Total of these three charges | ₦60,000 | ₦60,000 |
The application fee is paid when beginning the postgraduate application process.
The admission processing fee is a separate payment listed by the university and is required during the processing stage.
The acceptance fee becomes relevant after admission has been offered.
Therefore, prospective applicants should understand that the ₦20,000 application fee is not the complete cost of gaining admission.
Master’s Programme Fees
The university divides its Master’s registration charges into two groups.
| Master’s Programme | Jigawa State Indigene | Other Nigerian Students | International Students |
|---|---|---|---|
| M.A. Arabic, English, Islamic Studies; M.Ed. Curriculum Studies and Educational Psychology | ₦120,000 | ₦150,000 | $500 |
| M.Sc. Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics | ₦160,000 | ₦200,000 | $600 |
This means a Jigawa State indigene studying one of the listed M.A. or M.Ed. programmes pays a lower registration charge than a Nigerian student from another state.
The difference is also present in the science-based Master’s category.
For example, an M.Sc. student in Computer Science who is a Jigawa indigene has a listed registration charge of ₦160,000, while another Nigerian student has a registration charge of ₦200,000.
Also read: FUD Postgraduate School Fees (2026/2027 Session): Full Breakdown (PGD, Masters, Ph.D. & Hostel)
PhD Programme Fees
The PhD registration fees are also divided according to programme category.
| PhD Programme | Jigawa State Indigene | Other Nigerian Students | International Students |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arabic, English, Islamic Studies, Curriculum Studies and Educational Psychology | ₦160,000 | ₦200,000 | $750 |
| Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics | ₦200,000 | ₦250,000 | $1,000 |
The highest registration amount in the published Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees schedule is therefore ₦250,000 for other Nigerian students enrolled in the listed science-related PhD programmes.
International students in this category have a registration charge of $1,000.
PGD Programme Fees
The university also has two broad PGD fee groups.
| PGD Programme | Jigawa State Indigene | Other Nigerian Students | International Students |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arabic, Islamic Studies, English and Education | ₦96,000 | ₦120,000 | $400 |
| Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics | ₦112,000 | ₦140,000 | $450 |
The lowest programme registration fee in the current schedule is therefore ₦96,000, applicable to the listed PGD programmes in Arabic, Islamic Studies, English and Education for Jigawa State indigenes.
Other Charges Included in the Sule Lamido University Postgraduate Fees Schedule
The Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees schedule does not stop at registration and admission payments.
The university also lists a range of other charges that may apply during a student’s postgraduate journey.
| Other Charge | Nigerian Students | International Students |
|---|---|---|
| Medical Fee | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| ID Card Fee | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| Change of Programme of Study | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| Addition/Dropping of Course(s) | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| Deferment — Semester | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
| Deferment — Session | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| Carry Over — Per Course | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
| Late Registration | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
| PGD Supervision | ₦15,000 | ₦15,000 |
| Master’s Supervision | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| PhD Supervision | ₦25,000 | ₦25,000 |
| Master’s Thesis Submission | ₦40,000 | ₦40,000 |
| PhD Thesis Submission | ₦70,000 | ₦70,000 |
| Progress Report | ₦5,000 | ₦5,000 |
| Statement of Result | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
| ICT Charges | ₦20,000 | ₦20,000 |
| Library Service Charges | ₦10,000 | ₦10,000 |
Not all of these charges should be added together when calculating the cost of every student’s programme.
For instance, a student who does not change programme will not have to budget the ₦20,000 programme-change charge. Likewise, a student who does not defer a semester or carry over a course should not automatically include those fees in the basic cost calculation.
The supervision and thesis submission charges are particularly important for students planning longer postgraduate programmes because they are separate from the initial registration amount.
New vs. Returning Postgraduate Students
One important limitation in the published fee schedule is that it does not provide a separate table showing different registration charges for new students and returning students.
Instead, the schedule gives programme-based registration fees and then lists other charges that can arise during postgraduate study.
For newly admitted students, the major admission-related payments are:
- Application — ₦20,000
- Admission processing — ₦20,000
- Acceptance — ₦20,000
- Programme registration — based on the student’s course and category
- Applicable institutional charges
Returning students may have a different payment pattern because they have already completed the initial application and acceptance stages.
This is why students should not simply multiply the first-year amount by the number of years of study.
A Master’s student, for example, may encounter supervision and thesis submission charges later in the programme. A PhD student may have progress-report, supervision and thesis-related costs that do not form part of the initial admission payment.
Key takeaway: There is no single amount that represents the complete cost of every postgraduate programme at Sule Lamido University. The programme, student category and stage of study all matter.
Acceptance Fee and Additional Charges
The Sule Lamido University postgraduate acceptance fee for the 2026/2027 session is ₦20,000 for both Nigerian and international students according to the published schedule.
The acceptance fee is separate from the application fee and admission processing fee.
The current postgraduate application portal presents the process in stages:
Apply → Pay Application Fee → Complete Profile → Upload Documents → Request Transcript → Pay Processing Fee → Admission → Pay Acceptance Fee → Download Admission Letter
The portal specifically lists the application payment as ₦20,000, the admission processing payment as ₦20,000 and the acceptance payment as ₦20,000.
Students should therefore keep their payment records because different charges are made at different stages.
Other charges such as the medical fee, ID card fee, ICT charge and library service charge should also be considered when preparing a realistic postgraduate budget.
The schedule does not identify a hostel or accommodation fee as part of the listed postgraduate charges, so accommodation should not be added to the university’s official fee table without separate confirmation.
How Much Should You Budget for SLU Postgraduate Study?
A useful way to understand Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees is to separate the published programme fee from other charges.
For example, the three admission-stage charges total:
₦20,000 + ₦20,000 + ₦20,000 = ₦60,000
If the listed medical fee, ID card fee, ICT charge and library service charge are also included, those four charges add another:
₦5,000 + ₦5,000 + ₦20,000 + ₦10,000 = ₦40,000
That gives ₦100,000 before adding the programme registration fee.
Using those listed items as a budgeting illustration:
| Programme Category | Jigawa Indigene Registration | Other Nigerian Registration | Admission + Selected Core Charges | Indicative Combined Amount* |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PGD — Humanities/Education | ₦96,000 | ₦120,000 | ₦100,000 | ₦196,000 / ₦220,000 |
| PGD — Science | ₦112,000 | ₦140,000 | ₦100,000 | ₦212,000 / ₦240,000 |
| M.A./M.Ed. | ₦120,000 | ₦150,000 | ₦100,000 | ₦220,000 / ₦250,000 |
| M.Sc. | ₦160,000 | ₦200,000 | ₦100,000 | ₦260,000 / ₦300,000 |
| PhD — Humanities/Education | ₦160,000 | ₦200,000 | ₦100,000 | ₦260,000 / ₦300,000 |
| PhD — Science | ₦200,000 | ₦250,000 | ₦100,000 | ₦300,000 / ₦350,000 |
*These combined figures are budgeting illustrations based only on the application, processing, acceptance, medical, ID, ICT, library and programme registration charges listed by the university. They are not a statement that every student must pay exactly this amount at once, and they exclude conditional charges such as supervision, thesis submission, deferment, late registration and course changes.
This approach gives prospective students a much better understanding of Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees than simply quoting the registration fee.
Step-by-Step Payment Portal Guide
The university processes postgraduate applications online through its official admission system.
For prospective applicants, the general process is:
Step 1: Visit the official postgraduate admission portal
Go to the Sule Lamido University postgraduate admission portal and select the relevant programme.
Step 2: Create your application
Provide the required details and use an active email address and phone number because the university says these details will be used throughout the application process.
Step 3: Pay the application fee
The current portal lists an application payment of ₦20,000.
Step 4: Complete your profile
Fill in personal, contact and academic information.
Step 5: Upload your academic documents
The portal requests relevant academic documents, including O’Level, A’Level where applicable and highest qualification documents.
Step 6: Request your transcript
Applicants are instructed to request and submit their academic transcript through the specified transcript process.
Step 7: Pay the admission processing fee
The published process identifies a separate ₦20,000 admission processing fee.
Step 8: Check your admission outcome
Successful candidates proceed to the acceptance stage.
Step 9: Pay the acceptance fee
The acceptance fee is ₦20,000 according to the published 2026/2027 schedule.
Step 10: Download and retain your admission documentation
The portal instructs admitted applicants to download and keep their provisional admission letter after completing the acceptance payment.
For subsequent registration, the university’s postgraduate registration instructions use a payment process involving generation of an RRR and payment through the approved Remita channels or the registration portal.
Always use the payment instruction generated by the official university system rather than relying on payment details sent by an individual through social media or messaging platforms.
Installment Payment and Financial Aid
The current Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees schedule does not state a general installment-payment plan for PGD, Master’s or PhD students.
For that reason, applicants should not assume that they can automatically split their registration fees into monthly payments.
If an installment arrangement is introduced or approved for a particular session, students should rely on an official announcement or instruction from the School of Postgraduate Studies.
The same caution applies to scholarships, assistantships and other financial support.
The fee schedule itself does not state a university-wide postgraduate scholarship or fee-waiver arrangement. Prospective students should therefore distinguish between the university’s published charges and any external funding opportunity they may independently qualify for.
If you are building a postgraduate budget, it is safer to plan around the published charges first and treat any scholarship, bursary or sponsorship as additional support rather than guaranteed funding.
Comparison With Previous Fee Information
The current Sule Lamido University School of Postgraduate Studies website identifies the fee schedule as one approved by Council at its 36th Regular Meeting on 30 November 2023, with a follow-up circular dated 4 December 2023.
The same fee figures are currently displayed alongside the university’s 2026/2027 postgraduate admission information.
However, the available official material does not provide a complete side-by-side table showing 2025/2026 versus 2026/2027 postgraduate charges.
Therefore, it would be misleading to claim a specific percentage increase or decrease without an official previous-session comparison.
For MasterPG readers, the more useful point is that the figures currently displayed by the university are the ones prospective students should use when planning for the 2026/2027 session.
Fee update note: The published 2026/2027 postgraduate schedule is the best reference for current charges. Always check the official portal for any subsequent revision before making payment.
Scam Prevention and Payment Safety Tips
Because postgraduate admission involves several payments, applicants should be particularly careful about fraudulent payment requests.
When dealing with Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees, follow these precautions:
- Pay only through the official university payment process.
- Do not send acceptance or registration money to an individual’s bank account.
- Do not rely on payment instructions sent through WhatsApp or Facebook unless they direct you to an official university system.
- Keep screenshots and electronic copies of payment receipts.
- Download and retain your acknowledgement slip where the portal provides one.
- Keep your admission letter and payment references safely.
- Check the amount displayed on your official invoice before payment.
- Do not assume that an old fee schedule applies automatically to a new session.
- Never pay a third party who promises to “upgrade” your admission or secure a postgraduate placement.
The official School of Postgraduate Studies website provides the university’s fee information and directs applicants to its official postgraduate systems.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees for 2026/2027?
The registration fee depends on the programme and student category. For Nigerian students, the published registration charges range from ₦96,000 to ₦250,000. Jigawa State indigenes generally pay the lower amount within each listed programme category, while other Nigerian students pay the higher amount.
What is the Sule Lamido University postgraduate acceptance fee?
The acceptance fee for the 2026/2027 postgraduate session is ₦20,000 for both Nigerian and international students according to the university’s published schedule.
How much is the SLU postgraduate application fee?
The postgraduate application fee is ₦20,000. The university separately lists a ₦20,000 admission processing fee and a ₦20,000 admission acceptance fee.
How much is Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees for M.Sc. programmes?
For the listed M.Sc. programmes in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics, the registration fee is ₦160,000 for Jigawa State indigenes and ₦200,000 for other Nigerian students. The international student figure is $600.
How much is the SLU PhD registration fee?
The listed PhD registration fee is either ₦160,000 or ₦200,000 for Jigawa State indigenes, depending on the programme, while other Nigerian students pay either ₦200,000 or ₦250,000. International students are charged either $750 or $1,000 depending on the programme group.
Are there other charges apart from registration fees?
Yes. The university also lists medical, ID card, ICT, library, supervision, thesis submission, progress report and other charges. Some are conditional and only apply when a particular service or postgraduate stage is involved.
Does Sule Lamido University allow postgraduate students to pay in installments?
The published 2026/2027 fee schedule does not state a general installment-payment arrangement. Students should not assume that installment payment is available unless the university provides an official instruction permitting it.
Is the postgraduate fee the same for Jigawa indigenes and other Nigerians?
No. The registration fee is generally lower for Jigawa State indigenes than for other Nigerian students in the programme categories listed by the university.
Conclusion
The Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees for 2026/2027 are clearly structured around programme type and student category. The published registration charges start at ₦96,000 for some PGD programmes for Jigawa State indigenes and reach ₦250,000 for some PhD programmes for other Nigerian students. International students have separate dollar-denominated registration charges.
Beyond registration, applicants should remember the ₦20,000 application fee, ₦20,000 admission processing fee and ₦20,000 acceptance fee, as well as applicable medical, ID, ICT and library charges. Students progressing through Master’s and PhD programmes should also budget for supervision and thesis submission charges when those stages become applicable.
The most important lesson when budgeting for Sule Lamido University postgraduate school fees is to avoid treating the programme registration figure as the entire cost of postgraduate study. The actual amount a student pays over the course of the programme can change depending on the programme, student category and services required.
For anyone preparing to apply, the safest approach is to use the university’s official postgraduate portal, generate the appropriate payment information and confirm the amount displayed before making payment.
For related information, prospective applicants should also review the Sule Lamido University Postgraduate Admission Requirements for 2026/2027 before completing their application.

Asuku Abdulmalik is an education content writer and the founder of MasterPG, a Nigerian postgraduate information platform focused on postgraduate admissions and school fees. With a background in researching and writing educational content, Asuku is passionate about making postgraduate information easier for students and prospective applicants to find and understand. Through MasterPG, he covers admission requirements, application forms, deadlines, admission lists, school fees, and practical guides for postgraduate students across Nigerian universities. He is committed to keeping MasterPG’s content clear, accurate, and regularly updated, while encouraging readers to verify important details with the relevant institution’s official sources before making any decisions.
Founder & Education Content Writer, MasterPG
Your Guide to Postgraduate Studies in Nigeria.


