ATBU postgraduate school fees are covered by a reviewed fee schedule approved by the University Council for students at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi. The approved rates cover Master’s and PhD programmes and separate charges by student status, domestic or foreign and by faculty grouping. For applicants preparing for the 2026/2027 academic session, knowing the amount attached to the programme category is important because the figures are different for new and returning students.
In this ATBU postgraduate school fees guide, you will see the Master’s and PhD fee schedule, the difference between domestic and foreign student charges, the faculty groups covered by each rate, and the amounts payable by new and returning students.
Also read: FUD Postgraduate School Fees (2026/2027 Session): Full Breakdown (PGD, Masters, Ph.D. & Hostel)
ATBU Postgraduate School Fees: What the Approved Schedule Covers
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU), Bauchi, has reviewed its postgraduate fees, with the approved figures distinguishing between Master’s and PhD programmes and between domestic and foreign students.
The reviewed schedule is particularly important because it does not use one flat amount for every postgraduate student. The amount depends on the programme level, whether the student is new or returning, whether the student is domestic or foreign, and the faculty grouping attached to the programme.
The current ATBU School of Postgraduate Studies website confirms that the university is admitting students into PGD, Master’s and PhD programmes for the 2026/2027 academic session. It also lists postgraduate programmes across faculties including Science, Management Sciences, Environmental Technology, Engineering and Engineering Technology, Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, and Technology Education.
Fee-source note: The Master’s and PhD school-fee figures in this article are taken from the July 7, 2026 Registrar’s internal memo supplied for this guide. The application fee and administrative charges mentioned later are based on current ATBU/SPGS documents and current admission information available online. Applicants should still match their own portal invoice against the applicable category before payment.
ATBU Postgraduate School Fees for Master’s Programmes
The approved Master’s fees are divided into two faculty groupings.
The first column covers FEET, FOS, FOC and CMS, while the second covers FAAT, FET, FMS and FTE, as shown in the Registrar’s memo.
Master’s fee schedule
| Student Category | FEET, FOS, FOC & CMS | FAAT, FET, FMS & FTE |
|---|---|---|
| Domestic – New Student | ₦543,840 | ₦443,840 |
| Domestic – Returning Student | ₦302,940 | ₦252,940 |
| Foreign – New Student | ₦721,120 ($515) | ₦621,120 ($444) |
| Foreign – Returning Student | ₦429,970 ($307) | ₦279,600 ($200) |
The most prominent figure in the reviewed schedule is ₦543,840 for a new domestic Master’s student in the first faculty grouping. However, that should not be treated as the amount payable by every Master’s student at ATBU.
For students whose programmes fall under the second faculty grouping, the corresponding domestic new-student figure is ₦443,840.
Returning students have lower approved rates in both groups. The domestic returning rates are ₦302,940 and ₦252,940, respectively.
Foreign students have separate rates. A new foreign student in the first grouping is listed at ₦721,120 ($515), while the corresponding second-group rate is ₦621,120 ($444).
For returning foreign Master’s students, the memo gives ₦429,970 ($307) for the first grouping and ₦279,600 ($200) for the second.
What this means for Master’s applicants
If you are planning to start a Master’s programme at ATBU, the first thing to establish is the faculty or academic unit under which your programme falls.
Do not simply see the ₦543,840 figure online and assume it applies to every Master’s programme. The reviewed schedule clearly separates the rates according to faculty grouping.
A student should therefore confirm the programme, faculty and student category before making payment.
ATBU Postgraduate School Fees for PhD Programmes
The reviewed schedule also provides separate PhD rates.
Just like the Master’s schedule, PhD fees are divided into two faculty groupings and then further separated according to whether the student is domestic or foreign and whether the student is new or returning.
PhD fee schedule
| Student Category | FEET, FOS, FOC & CMS | FAAT, FET, FMS & FTE |
|---|---|---|
| Domestic – New Student | ₦744,500 | ₦644,500 |
| Domestic – Returning Student | ₦368,750 | ₦318,750 |
| Foreign – New Student | ₦930,170 ($664) | ₦830,110 ($593) |
| Foreign – Returning Student | ₦508,750 ($363) | ₦458,750 ($328) |
For domestic students, the approved new-student PhD fees are ₦744,500 for the first grouping and ₦644,500 for the second.
Returning domestic PhD students are listed at ₦368,750 and ₦318,750, respectively.
Foreign students have higher figures. A new foreign PhD student in the first grouping is listed at ₦930,170 ($664), while the second grouping is ₦830,110 ($593).
Returning foreign PhD students are listed at ₦508,750 ($363) and ₦458,750 ($328).
This distinction is important when preparing a PhD budget because the difference between a new and returning student is considerable.
New Students vs Returning Students
One of the clearest features of the ATBU postgraduate school fees schedule is the difference between new and returning students.
A new postgraduate student is generally entering the programme and completing the initial registration process, while a returning student is continuing an existing postgraduate registration.
The reviewed figures show that returning students have lower approved rates than new students across both Master’s and PhD categories.
| Programme | New Domestic | Returning Domestic |
|---|---|---|
| Master’s – Group 1 | ₦543,840 | ₦302,940 |
| Master’s – Group 2 | ₦443,840 | ₦252,940 |
| PhD – Group 1 | ₦744,500 | ₦368,750 |
| PhD – Group 2 | ₦644,500 | ₦318,750 |
This means students should not compare their expected payment with the amount being paid by a friend or colleague without first checking whether both students have the same registration status and programme grouping.
For a new student, the relevant rate is the new-student amount in the appropriate faculty group.
For a returning student, the returning-student amount should be used instead.
This distinction also matters when budgeting for the second and subsequent stages of a postgraduate programme.
Why ATBU Postgraduate Fees Differ by Faculty Group
The reviewed schedule does not give one uniform fee for all postgraduate programmes.
Instead, ATBU has grouped faculties together for the purpose of the approved rates. The two groupings appearing in the memo are:
Group 1: FEET, FOS, FOC and CMS
Group 2: FAAT, FET, FMS and FTE
The university’s postgraduate website identifies faculties including Technology Education, Science, Management Sciences, Environmental Technology, Engineering and Engineering Technology, and Agriculture and Agricultural Technology.
Because the amount depends on this grouping, students should identify their faculty before deciding which fee applies.
This is especially important for applicants choosing between programmes in different faculties. Two Master’s programmes may not necessarily have the same approved postgraduate charge.
What the ATBU Postgraduate School Fees Cover
The Registrar’s memo confirms the approved rates for the reviewed postgraduate fees, but it does not provide a line-by-line breakdown of every individual charge inside each total.
That means students should not independently assume that a particular percentage of the amount represents tuition, registration, examination, supervision, library services, ICT or another individual item unless ATBU provides a detailed breakdown.
The safest approach is to treat the amount shown for the applicable category as the approved rate for that student/programme grouping and then check the payment invoice or official fee schedule for any itemised instructions issued during registration.
ATBU’s postgraduate regulations also show that postgraduate administration includes matters such as registration, renewal of registration, qualifying examinations, supervision and research-related processes.
Do not add unofficial charges to the published total simply because they appear on a social-media post or an unofficial blog.
If the university introduces an additional compulsory charge, students should look for an official notice or payment instruction from ATBU.
ATBU Postgraduate Application Fee
The ATBU postgraduate application form costs ₦11,000 for the current 2026/2027 admission exercise.
This is separate from the school-fee figures in the Registrar’s July 2026 reviewed-fee memo.
The current postgraduate admission information places the application fee at ₦11,000 for candidates applying for PGD, Master’s and PhD programmes.
Applicants should therefore budget for the application fee before admission in addition to the eventual school fees.
Application fee: ₦11,000
School fees: Depends on programme grouping, student status and nationality.
Important: The ₦11,000 application payment should not be added to the ₦543,840, ₦443,840 or other school-fee figures as though it were already included in those approved rates. It is an application-stage payment.
Other Confirmed ATBU Postgraduate Charges
Apart from the main school fees and application fee, ATBU’s School of Postgraduate Studies publishes specific charges for certain administrative processes.
These charges do not apply automatically to every postgraduate student. They become relevant when a student makes the corresponding request.
Extension of registration
ATBU’s current SPGS Extension of Registration Form states the following approved amounts:
| Programme | Extension Fee |
|---|---|
| PGD | ₦10,000 |
| Master’s | ₦15,000 |
| PhD | ₦20,000 |
The form explains that extension applies to candidates whose residency has expired and that the maximum extension is for one session.
Therefore, a student who completes the programme within the approved period does not simply add the extension fee to the normal school-fee budget.
It becomes relevant when an approved extension is required.
Deferment of admission
ATBU’s SPGS deferment documentation requires a ₦10,000 deferment fee, with an official ATBU receipt attached to the request.
However, the university’s reviewed postgraduate guidelines also state that a candidate requesting deferment is charged 75% of the session’s tuition fees as a non-refundable deferment fee.
The current SPGS deferment form also requests evidence relating to payment of 75% of the registration fee.
Because these documents describe the deferment requirements in more than one component, students seeking deferment should follow the specific instructions and payment requirements issued by SPGS for their case rather than assuming that ₦10,000 is the entire cost of deferment.
Summary of confirmed additional charges
| Charge | Amount | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| Postgraduate application | ₦11,000 | When applying for admission |
| Deferment fee | ₦10,000 | When applying for deferment, alongside the other requirement stated by SPGS |
| PGD registration extension | ₦10,000 | When an approved PGD extension is required |
| Master’s registration extension | ₦15,000 | When an approved Master’s extension is required |
| PhD registration extension | ₦20,000 | When an approved PhD extension is required |
These are not additional amounts that every postgraduate student should automatically add to the approved school-fee total.
They depend on the student’s particular stage or request.
New ATBU Students: How Much Should You Prepare?
A new domestic Master’s student should begin the school-fee budget with the appropriate approved amount:
₦543,840 for the first faculty grouping, or
₦443,840 for the second faculty grouping.
A new domestic PhD student should begin with:
₦744,500 for the first faculty grouping, or
₦644,500 for the second faculty grouping.
Then, separately, applicants should account for the ₦11,000 postgraduate application fee paid during the application stage.
Students should not add extension or deferment charges unless they actually expect to use those services.
For example, someone applying for a new Master’s programme should not automatically add the ₦15,000 Master’s extension fee to their school-fee budget simply because the fee exists. It only becomes relevant if an extension of registration is required and approved.
How to Pay ATBU Postgraduate School Fees
The exact payment interface may change as ATBU updates its postgraduate systems, so students should use the official postgraduate portal and the payment instructions attached to their admission or registration. https://pgatbu.com.ng/
ATBU’s postgraduate application guidelines provide an online process for applicants, including account activation, login, fee payment, programme selection, qualification details, document submission and final application printing.
For students proceeding to registration, use this practical checklist:
1. Confirm your admission status.
Make sure you have been admitted to the correct postgraduate programme before proceeding with school-fee payment.
2. Confirm your programme and faculty.
Check whether your programme falls under the first or second faculty grouping in the approved fee schedule.
3. Confirm your student status.
Determine whether you are being processed as a new or returning postgraduate student.
4. Confirm the amount displayed on the official payment instruction.
The figure should correspond with the approved category applicable to you.
5. Use the official ATBU postgraduate payment channel.
Do not make payment through a personal bank account, agent or social-media contact.
6. Complete the payment carefully.
Before submitting payment, check your name, programme, student details, amount and payment reference.
7. Save your evidence of payment.
Keep your payment receipt, transaction reference, invoice and other registration documents.
8. Complete the required registration process.
Payment alone does not necessarily complete postgraduate registration. Follow the SPGS instructions for registration and submission of any required documents.
The ATBU SPGS website currently provides access to the postgraduate application system for the 2026/2027 exercise.
How Much Should You Budget Before Applying?
A good postgraduate budget should be based on more than the headline school-fee figure.
For example, a new domestic Master’s applicant should begin with either ₦543,840 or ₦443,840, depending on the applicable faculty grouping.
A new domestic PhD applicant should begin with either ₦744,500 or ₦644,500.
Applicants should also remember the ₦11,000 application fee, which is paid separately during the admission application process.
After identifying the correct figure, students should consider legitimate expenses that may arise from their programme and registration process.
A simple planning structure is:
Application stage: ₦11,000 application fee.
School fee: Use the approved amount applicable to your programme.
Extension: Only budget ₦10,000, ₦15,000 or ₦20,000 if an extension becomes necessary for your programme level.
Deferment: Only budget for the applicable deferment requirements if you are requesting deferment.
Research/project expenses: Budget separately where your programme requires them.
Personal academic expenses: Consider transportation, printing, internet access, books, data collection and other study-related costs.
This approach prevents students from treating every possible administrative charge as though it were automatically payable by every student.
ATBU Postgraduate School Fees Compared With Earlier Published Charges
ATBU has previously published postgraduate fee schedules with substantially lower figures.
For example, an earlier official SPGS schedule listed Nigerian students in M.Eng., M.Sc. and M.Tech. programmes within several faculty groups at ₦145,500 for new students and ₦108,750 for returning students, while the listed PhD figure was ₦195,500 for new students and ₦158,750 for returning students.
Those figures should not be substituted for the reviewed rates in the July 2026 Registrar’s memo.
The newer approved structure separates the rates by faculty grouping and provides distinct domestic and foreign charges for new and returning students.
This is why applicants should avoid relying on old screenshots or old blog posts when planning their current postgraduate expenses.
Installment Payment and Financial Planning
Students who cannot comfortably set aside the entire amount at once may want to ask the School of Postgraduate Studies whether any approved instalment arrangement applies to their programme or registration stage.
However, the reviewed fee memo supplied for this article does not state that students are automatically permitted to divide the approved fee into instalments.
Therefore, students should not assume that they can pay any amount they choose and complete registration later.
Where ATBU authorises an instalment arrangement, follow the terms communicated by the university.
For financial support, students should also check whether their department, faculty, university or external sponsors have any current scholarship, research-support or postgraduate funding opportunities.
Practical budgeting tip: If you are a new student, plan around the full approved school-fee amount applicable to your programme rather than assuming that an instalment option will automatically be available.
ATBU Postgraduate Programmes and Academic Areas
ATBU offers postgraduate study across a broad range of academic areas.
The university’s postgraduate website identifies programmes in areas including Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, Engineering and Engineering Technology, Environmental Technology, Management Sciences, Science and Technology Education and Science.
The School of Postgraduate Studies also lists different postgraduate qualifications, including PGD, M.Sc., M.Tech., M.Eng., MBA, MHM, MAFS, MFM and PhD programmes.
This range explains why students should always identify their exact programme before using a fee table.
The amount for one programme should not automatically be transferred to another programme simply because both are postgraduate courses.
Important Things to Check Before Paying
Before making your ATBU postgraduate payment, go through the following checklist:
Check 1: Programme
Make sure the programme on your admission or registration record is the one you intend to study.
Check 2: Faculty grouping
Identify whether your programme belongs to the first or second grouping shown in the approved schedule.
Check 3: Student status
Confirm whether you are classified as a new or returning student.
Check 4: Nationality category
Domestic and foreign students have different approved rates.
Check 5: Amount
Compare the amount on the official payment instruction with the approved figure for your category.
Check 6: Payment reference
Make sure the payment reference belongs to your own application or student record.
Check 7: Receipt
Save evidence of successful payment immediately.
Check 8: Registration
Complete any additional registration requirements after payment.
These checks can help prevent one of the most common postgraduate payment problems: paying the wrong amount under the wrong category.
How to Avoid Fake ATBU Postgraduate Payment Channels
Postgraduate admission periods often attract individuals who claim to be agents, admission consultants or university representatives.
Students should be particularly careful when someone asks for payment outside the university’s recognised channels.
Do not send your ATBU postgraduate school fees to:
- A personal bank account provided through WhatsApp.
- An individual claiming to “help” you secure admission.
- A social-media account that cannot be verified through ATBU.
- A payment link that does not correspond with the official university instructions.
- Anyone promising to reduce the approved school fees in exchange for a private payment.
The official ATBU postgraduate website provides the School of Postgraduate Studies information and its online application channels.
Before payment, verify.
If you are uncertain about an amount, programme category or payment instruction, contact the School of Postgraduate Studies through its official channels rather than relying on a third party.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much is ATBU postgraduate school fees for a new Master’s student?
The approved amount depends on the faculty grouping. The reviewed schedule lists ₦543,840 for domestic new Master’s students in FEET, FOS, FOC and CMS, and ₦443,840 for domestic new Master’s students in FAAT, FET, FMS and FTE.
How much is ATBU postgraduate school fees for a returning Master’s student?
The reviewed schedule lists ₦302,940 for domestic returning Master’s students in the first grouping and ₦252,940 for the second grouping.
How much is ATBU postgraduate school fees for a new PhD student?
Domestic new PhD students are listed at ₦744,500 for FEET, FOS, FOC and CMS and ₦644,500 for FAAT, FET, FMS and FTE.
How much do foreign postgraduate students pay at ATBU?
Foreign students have separate rates. For Master’s programmes, the listed new-student rates are ₦721,120 ($515) and ₦621,120 ($444), depending on the faculty grouping. For PhD programmes, the listed new-student rates are ₦930,170 ($664) and ₦830,110 ($593).
How much is the ATBU postgraduate application fee?
The current 2026/2027 postgraduate application fee is ₦11,000. This is an application-stage payment and is separate from the school-fee amounts in the reviewed postgraduate fee schedule.
How much is the ATBU postgraduate registration extension fee?
The current SPGS extension form lists ₦10,000 for PGD, ₦15,000 for Master’s and ₦20,000 for PhD.
How much is the ATBU postgraduate deferment fee?
The SPGS deferment form specifies a ₦10,000 deferment fee, while ATBU’s reviewed postgraduate guidelines also state that deferment attracts 75% of the session’s tuition fees as a non-refundable deferment fee. Students requesting deferment should therefore follow the complete payment instructions issued by SPGS for their particular case.
Is ₦543,840 the fee for every ATBU Master’s programme?
No. The approved schedule contains different amounts for different faculty groupings. ₦543,840 is the domestic new-student rate for the first Master’s grouping shown in the memo, not a universal rate for every Master’s programme.
Can I pay ATBU postgraduate school fees in instalments?
The reviewed fee memo does not state a universal instalment arrangement. Students should not assume that instalment payment is automatically available. Confirm any approved arrangement with the School of Postgraduate Studies before making a partial payment.
Final Takeaway on ATBU Postgraduate School Fees
The reviewed ATBU postgraduate school fees for 2026/2027 show a differentiated structure for Master’s and PhD students.
For domestic Master’s students, the approved new-student rates are ₦543,840 and ₦443,840, while returning students are listed at ₦302,940 and ₦252,940, depending on the faculty grouping.
For domestic PhD students, the approved new-student rates are ₦744,500 and ₦644,500, while returning students are listed at ₦368,750 and ₦318,750.
Foreign students have separate naira and dollar figures, with new Master’s students listed at ₦721,120 ($515) or ₦621,120 ($444) and new PhD students at ₦930,170 ($664) or ₦830,110 ($593).
In addition to the main school fees, applicants should remember the ₦11,000 postgraduate application fee. Specific administrative charges also exist for processes such as registration extension and deferment. The confirmed extension fees are ₦10,000 for PGD, ₦15,000 for Master’s and ₦20,000 for PhD, while the SPGS deferment documents specify a ₦10,000 fee together with additional deferment requirements.
Stay updated on ATBU postgraduate school fees, courses, admission requirements, and application deadlines, by checking back on masterpg.com.ng. We revise this page whenever new postgraduate information for The Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU) are released.

Asuku Abdulmalik is an education content writer and the founder of MasterPG, a Nigerian postgraduate information platform focused on postgraduate admissions and school fees. With a background in researching and writing educational content, Asuku is passionate about making postgraduate information easier for students and prospective applicants to find and understand. Through MasterPG, he covers admission requirements, application forms, deadlines, admission lists, school fees, and practical guides for postgraduate students across Nigerian universities. He is committed to keeping MasterPG’s content clear, accurate, and regularly updated, while encouraging readers to verify important details with the relevant institution’s official sources before making any decisions.
Founder & Education Content Writer, MasterPG
Your Guide to Postgraduate Studies in Nigeria.


